Study Guides for 1L Classes

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) provides are computer-based, interactive tutorials that cover narrow topics of law. There are over 1,200 lessons available on 60 different topics. Current W&L Law students can click here for the Authorization Code to sign up for a free account.

The Lexis Digital Library is an e-book collection of primary and secondary legal materials, plus a range of study aids for law school subjects from LexisNexis. Contains over 700 titles on 60+ legal topics, including the Understanding, Skills & Values, and Questions & Answers study aids series. Complimentary access is provided by the W&L Law Library to current W&L Law students.

Quimbee courses include beautifully designed video lessons that break down even the toughest concepts into bite-sized, entertaining chunks. The Property course covers the basic concepts and principles in the law of property. Topics include present and future interests in real property, restrictive covenants, the law of nuisance, concurrent ownership, easements, and the transfer of title to property. Complimentary access is provided by the W&L Law Library. Contact lawref@wlu.edu for login credentials.

West Academic offers hundreds of study aids written by top legal scholars that are designed to help you succeed in law school, including Nutshells, Hornbooks, Black Letter Outlines, Sum and Substance Audio Lectures, and more. All are free to view online or download to your mobile device with a valid W&L Law account through the linked heading above.

Online access available from West Academic. This study aid features an innovative method of content organization. It uses outline-like checklists that are designed to lead students through the analytical steps necessary to evaluate and resolve property issues. Each chapter begins with a review and explanation of the important rules, concepts and principles that govern a particular area of property law.

Online access available through West Academic. Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. Each Black Letter Outline is written by experienced law school professors who are recognized national authorities in their subject area.

Online access available through West Academic. The Law of Property provides an incisive and clear summary of the doctrine and theory animating the law of private property. The book is organized around three main themes: acquiring property, dividing property, and limiting rights in property. Specific topics include, the law of capture, creation, adverse possession, estates and future interests, concurrent ownership, marital property, leaseholds, land transfers, recordation, easements, covenants, land use controls, and the Takings Clause, among others.

When it's exam time you need the right information in the right format to study efficiently and effectively. Emanuel®CrunchTime is the perfect tool for exam studying. With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers - you will be prepared for your next big test.

Any law school graduate will tell you that when picking your outline tool you need to pick the best because your outlines are the most important study tool you will use throughout your law school career. Developed by legendary study aid author Steve Emanuel, Emanuel® Law Outlines (ELOs) are the #1 outline choice among law students. An ELO ensures that you understand the concepts as you learn them in class and helps you study for exams throughout the semester. Here's why you need an ELO from your first day of class right through your final exam.

Examples & Explanations: Property, Sixth Edition, is a study aid that offers clear textual introductions to legal terms and concepts in property law, followed by examples and explanations that test and apply the reader's understanding of the material covered. Using a six-part topical organization, the authors ensure that the rules and doctrines making up the first-year course on the law of property are well covered.

Online access available through West Academic. This comprehensive guide provides an overview of the rules and principles of estates and future interests, including concurrent estates, marital estates (including the modern elective share), and powers of appointment. It includes new innovations from the Restatement 3d of Property, modernizing the law of future interests and dramatically changing the Rule Against Perpetuities. With respect to powers of appointment, the book incorporates the clarifications and modernizations of the law in the Restatement 3d of Property and the Uniform Powers of Appointment Act (2013, with subsequent amendments).

Online access available through West Academic. Comprehensive outline on Property, including expert explanations of applicable law and practice exam questions.

Online access available through West Academic. This title contains briefs for each major case in Dukeminier, Krier, Alexander, Schill, and Strahilevitz's casebook on Property. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.

Emanuel Law in a Flash comprehensive flash cards are ideal for reviewing legal topics point by point. Each card has a concise question on one side and an accurate answer on the reverse side. With this set of Law in a Flash, you have the foundation for excellent exam preparation for the multistate bar exam (MBE). After going through the set, card by card and issue by issue, you will be able to face the exam with the confidence of knowing and understanding every rule.

Online access available through West Academic. This title is a comprehensive, one-volume introduction to the modern law of real property. Each chapter begins with an overview of rules and concepts, followed by a series of problems and exercises designed to demonstrate how the rules and concepts apply in real situations. Each problem is followed by a comprehensive analysis of the legal issues raised, including citations of the relevant cases and statutes. This edition has been fully updated to reflect current developments.

Online access available through West Academic. In these recordings, Professor Paula A. Franzese condenses property law into one concise and exceedingly effective lecture with exam tips and motivational guidance.

Online access available through West Academic. This classic monograph presents a simple, concise and readable text of the history of the English common law scheme of estates in land, including future interests, and the scheme's importation to the United States. The text specially treats the types of interests a person can hold in land today and the associated legal rules that affect those interests. The text is peppered with many review problems to assist the reader in learning the material in the monograph.

Online access available through West Academic. The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students' most frequently asked office hour questions.

Online access available through West Academic. This book discusses principles of the common law, with attention to how the subjects of tort law, contract law, and property law have developed in the United States. The focus is on modern law and how it has changed from more formalistic rules that were used in the past. It is an ideal introductory guide for law students and others interested in modern legal reasoning. The book pays special attention to parallels and correspondences between its legal subject areas, showing how they fit together into a larger picture. While teaching the material at a sophisticated level and avoiding "tips" and "tricks," the book includes notes on what to focus on when learning the common law and includes a significant amount of material that shows the subtleties of modern legal education.

Online access available through West Academic. Cases and statutory law are updated and the material reorganized; conforms with modern law school courses in real property. Chapters open with brief outlines of the law encompassed within, providing an overview of rules in that area. This is followed by a series of factually-based problems designed to generate thoughts about how these rules could be applied in real life situations. Chapters then discuss statements of applicable law and analysis of legal issues raised, plus likely outcomes and current citations of the various laws.

Online access available through West Academic. BARBRI & West Academic’s Cold Call Companion provides you with resources to critically analyze and brief a case, distill the main points of law, prepare for the kinds of questions professors may ask in class, and so much more. Included in each Cold Call Companion are: Animated case brief videos that bring the facts to life; A written case brief; Advice for prepping for class discussion; Contextual materials to offer additional color and background; Test Yourself questions; and Carefully curated sets of additional study materials to expand your knowledge of important concepts.

Online access available through the Lexis Digital Library. There is no better way to improve your understanding of property law doctrines, concepts, and theories and to evaluate your progress in a course than to engage with rigorous practice exam questions. This updated study guide provides more than 200 multiple-choice, true/false, and short answer questions arranged topically and designed to test your comprehension as you learn. And, there is practice exam with more than 50 questions that covers most of the subjects taught across a semester in the typical property law course. The correct answers to all the book's practice questions are available to compare against your own responses.

Online access available through West Academic. This concise work discusses most rules covered in real property casebooks. The text is divided into three sections. Part One provides an overview of property interests by covering lost v. mislaid v. abandoned property, adverse possession, gifts, common law estates, future interests, landlord-tenant law, concurrent ownership, marital property rights, easements, profits, licenses, real covenants, and equitable servitudes. Part Two covers conveyancing, including real estate brokers, contracts of sale, deeds, recording, title insurance, and mortgages. Part Three covers a variety of property rights and liabilities, including airspace, water rights, the right to support, agreed boundaries, fixtures, trespass, nuisance, and land use regulation.

Online access available through West Academic. This book takes difficult subject matter and makes it accessible and easy to remember. Professor Paula Franzese, a nationally renowned teacher and scholar, sets forth understandable techniques for mastering estates in land and future interests (including the dreaded rule against perpetuities), concurrent estates, landlord-tenant law, servitudes, land transactions, the recording system, zoning, and eminent domain and includes, in this expanded Third Edition, added treatment of adverse possession, homeowners' associations, common interest communities, future interests, the rule of capture, and the law of finders.

Online access available through West Academic. Convenient and effective, Sum and Substance Audio lectures on Real Property, 3rd presents the essentials of real property law in a clear, succinct, time-saving format. It includes exam tips to maximize performance. Among other topics, sections discuss: study techniques, ownership, tenure, seisin, estates in land, future interests, reversion, remainders, title, powers of appointment, tenancy, marital property estates, landlord and tenant, assignment and subletting, easements, profits, licenses, land sales contracts, financing, deeds, covenants of title, estoppel by deed, recording acts, lateral and subjacent support, and public land use control.

Online access available through the Lexis Digital Library. Understanding Property Law is a comprehensive and authoritative treatise designed for law students who are taking the standard first-year course on property. It explains the basic principles of property law in the United States and discusses the policy concerns and historical currents that shape this law. This book provides complete coverage of all standard topics covered in the basic property course, including landlord-tenant law, adverse possession, rights in personal property, intellectual property, estates and future interests, cotenancies, marital property, sales transactions, mortgages, easements, covenants, servitudes, nuisances, eminent domain, zoning, takings, and other land use issues.