Does W&L Have This Article?
You can use an option on the library homepage entitled Journal Search to enter the title of the journal or magazine you are looking for (do not type in the title of the article).
- An example: Perspectives on Politics
Be sure to take note of the limited years of coverage (if any) for each option.
If the library does not have the article, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Article Databases -- Specialized Scholarly
The Library Catalog search for books, articles, movies and more searches a wide variety of databases and sources. Searching for books only will allow you to search for books in the library's collection (print and ebook). It will also search for articles and chapters from books. Not all the items it will find is considered to be scholarly.
The following databases specialize in locating articles in scholarly/academic journals and related sources.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Excellent starting point. Multidisciplinary article database offers access to more than 16,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers, including over 15,000 peer-reviewed journals.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of sociology and its sub-disciplines, with very good coverage of related areas of study, especially politics. In addition to full-text journals, it contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
- Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text content of more than 250 of the world's most respected scholarly law journals, covering "issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world" -- constitutional law, criminal justice, environmental law, commercial law, ethical issues, etc. Chronological coverage varies among sources, with some extending back to the early 1990's.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
The link above takes users to the free, public-domain form of the database which is the largest education database in the world.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education, including "all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing." Full-text content from more than 950 journals, plus indexing of over 1,800 additional journals, some back to the 1980's. Other materials includes full-text conference papers, books, and monographs.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to over 600 journals in communication, mass media, and related fields, as well as books, reports, dissertations, and other resources. Includes full-text articles from over 500 journals.
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Highly respected database covers 7,000 sources for legal information, news sources, and business research. Extensive legal coverage includes law reviews, court cases, statutes, regulations, and more. News sources feature hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers and broadcast transcripts. Business research includes Company Investigator.
- Think Tanks, Public Policy Groups, and Advocacy GroupsThink tanks and public policy, advocacy, and research groups provide a great deal of information in a wide range of subject areas. See the "Think Tank Search" option.
- EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconLit, published by the American Economic Association, provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. It is an expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) covering both economic theory and application, and indexes journal articles, working papers, books, articles (chapters) in collective works, and dissertations.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source covers business journals, magazines, and newspapers. About 7,000 publications, over 2,000 of which are peer-reviewed journals, as well as other resources, including financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. You might try changing the "select a field" drop-down menu to "CO Company Entity" before searching for a company name.
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
A leading index and abstracting service for business and management, and it provides indexing and abstracts to articles from thousands of business and management publications. Many articles are available in full-text. Abstracting coverage begins with 1971.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of over 1,100 important scholarly journals. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years, based on JSTOR's agreement with the journal's publisher.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
International business and news coverage from over 14,000 sources, including newspapers, news wires, magazines, trade journals, radio and television transcripts, etc. Contemporary coverage of the New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.
- NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Articles from 9,000+ U.S. and international full-text information sources, mostly newspapers and wire services. Able to focus a search on news sources from one region of the world or even from one U.S. state at a time.