Washington and Lee University Research Guides: ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES 110: INTRODUCTION TO ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES (Professor Hodge): Governments and Statistics

Washington and Lee University Library

University Library

Email Me

Contact:

204 West Washington Street,
Lexington, VA 24450

U.S. Federal Government -- Major Data Sources on Environmental Issues

These two Federal Government agencies probably are the most valuable for environmentally-themed data:

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
The EPA's mission is " to protect human health and the environment." The site's A to Z Index is a good way to find data and analysis.
As of February 2017, there are a number of significant non-governmental projects, including Climate Mirror and Data refuge Project, attempting to provide back-up sites for vulnerable scientific data from EPA and other organizations.
U.S. Energy Information Adminstration
This subdivision of the Department of Energy "collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment."

Other Federal Government agencies also are major repositories of data useful in environmental studies.

Federal Statistical Agencies
Links to the 13 Federal Government "agencies that have statistical work as their principal mission." (Page created by the Office of Management and Budget in the Obama administration.)

Statistical Information -- Great Starting Places

If you have little or no idea about what agencies or organizations collect data in a particular subject area, these two databases are great starting places.

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Probably the single most useful published collection of statistical information on virtually all aspects of life in the United States. And it usually directs you to the originally-published sources of data for more in-depth coverage.
Earlier editions also are available online from the Census Bureau. Printed copies (1878-2011) are available in the library's Reference collection.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Contains references to tens of thousands of data sources from the U.S. Federal Government, U.S. state governments, international intergovernmental organizations, and private sector groups, such as trade and professional associations.

U.S. Federal Government -- Search Tools

These are tools for finding information from the Congress and from Executive agencies of the U.S. Federal Government.

U.S. Federal Government Watchdog Agencies
These agencies of the U.S. Federal Government are considered reliable, non-partisan research resources, especially for analyses of government programs and policies.

GovInfo
Official Government Publishing Office database provides access to hundreds of thousands of Federal Government documents, dating back to the 18th century.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
This is almost certainly the most comprehensive database of Congressional publications, some dating back as far as the late 1700's. Includes the complete texts of hearings and most other documents. An interesting sub-set of the database provides legislative histories. (Law Library subscription.)

International Governmental Organizations and Agencies

List of Foreign Governments
Hundreds of foreign government sites (Northwestern University).
International Statistical Agencies
Official national statistical agencies for countries of the world (Provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.)
Search International Governmental Organizations
This is a Google-based search engine which focuses on the contents of the Web sites of these 25 major international governmental organizations.