ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES 110: INTRODUCTION TO ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES (Professor Hodge)

Edited by Paul Robbins, this 2007 work contains about 1,200 signed entries within an interdisciplinary approach to the interactions between people and the natural environment.

2014 volume contains 25 essays which examine the field "thematically through such categories as climate, disease, oceans, the body, energy, consumerism, and international relations." You may preview the contents.

Forty chapters (2014) outline actors and institutions, themes and ideas, issues and policies. You may preview the contents.

2016 volume introduces "the latest developments in environmental economics, sustainable accounting work, environmental/sustainable finance" and "explores the effects of environmental regulation on the economy and businesses." You may preview the contents.

2016 volumes uses a "medical anthropological approach to explore the interface of humans and the environment in the shaping of health and illness around the world." You may preview the contents.

Divided into four thematic areas, this 2012 collection of nearly 30 essays reviews contemporary scholarship on environmental history. You may preview the contents.

Edited by Andrew Goudie, this 2008 "interdisciplinary guide to the range of issues surrounding natural and human-induced changes in the Earth's environment" contains over 200 authoritative, signed entries.

2014 volume "authoritatively discusses the multifaceted field of metal and materials recycling, reuse and reclamation... synthesizing industrial application alongside policy and economic implications." You may preview the contents.

Released in 2008, this encyclopedia contains more than 300 signed essays covering "cover concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage."

Three-volume collection (2008) of "more than 750 articles that explore major topics related to global warming and climate change—ranging geographically from the North Pole to the South Pole, and thematically from social effects to scientific causes."
You may preview the contents.

2011 volume contains 150 alphabetically-arranged signed entries covering "the moral relationship between humans and their natural environment, specifically targeting the contemporary green movement."

2008 set contains over 500 detailed, signed entries covering "all aspects of ecology, from basic to applied."

This is the electronic version of Elsevier's Encyclopedia of Biodiversity made available via ScienceDirect. Advantages to the electronic version include searchability, PDF copies of chapters, and access outside of the library.

Nine-volume set, published in 2013, contains 700 alphabetically-arranged entries.

Four-volume set (2nd ed.; 2012) examines the field from not only ethical, legal, social, and philosophical issues, but also from the perspectives of practitioners and policy-makers.

Five-volume set (2008) contains more than 800 signed entries with "broad coverage of corporate social responsibility, the obligation of companies to various stakeholder groups, the contribution of business to society and culture, and the relationship between organizations and the quality of the environment."

This is the third edition (2003) of the most comprehensive encyclopedia on American history, comprising ten volumes in printed form. The 4,400 signed articles range in length up to 7,000 words. [ preview ]

Eight-volume set (2008) offers over 2,000 signed and alphabetically-arranged entries, providing coverage of social, economic, cultural and political topics, spanning the period from about 1750 to current times.

The IESBS (2002) is the largest reference work on the social and behavioral sciences ever published -- over 4,000 signed articles in 26 printed volumes.

Covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences. Acquisition was made possible by the McCrum Palmer Book Fund.