This 2016 collection focuses on women as a category of analysis, overarching concepts of masculinities, sexualities, LGBT rights and transgender identities... [discussing] issues of statecraft, citizenship and the politics of belonging, international law and human rights, media and communications technologies, political economy, development, global governance and transnational visions of politics and solidarities.

This 2013 handbook "explores population sexuality in order to describe the prevalence of sexual behaviors, desires, and identities, as well as their connections with other demographic outcomes." You may preview the contents.

2013 volume contains over 30 essays which provide an overview of "sexuality and body politics, political economy; civil society, participation, representation and policymaking, institutions, states, and governance, as well as nation, citizenship, and identity."

Two-volume set (2008) includes about 500 signed entries which cover "the major theories, research, people, and issues in contemporary gender studies," providing "a cross-national/cross-cultural perspective that provides comparative analyses of the life experiences of men and women around the world."

This 2010 volume's collection of signed essays "presents women’s and men’s experiences of gendered poverty with respect to a vast spectrum of intersecting issues..." [ preview ]

Published as a two-volume set in 2010, this work contains 101 thematically-grouped entries, with each section beginning "with an overview of leadership questions that have been or are still being tackled in every field where the study of women, as women, is important."

2016 volume contains 49 essays constituting an overview of "analytical frameworks and theoretical concepts." You may preview the contents.

This 2014 volume provides "authoritative overviews of current research and theory on how gender and sex shape crime and criminal justice responses to it. " You may preview the contents.

2014 volume contains 59 chapters addressing issues and controversies, histories, policies, representations, etc. You may preview the contents.

2011 volume presents 24 signed, scholarly overviews of issues in this interdisciplinary field.

Collection of respected sources which provide country-by-country data and analysis. Some offer broad overviews of conditions and issues, while others focus on narrower issues -- human rights, business, press freedom, energy, etc.

The IESBS (2002) is the largest reference work on the social and behavioral sciences ever published -- over 4,000 signed articles in 26 printed volumes.

Covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences. Acquisition was made possible by the McCrum Palmer Book Fund.

Five-colume set (2010) was prepared with the assistance of the American Political Science Association. It contains about 1,500 alphabetically-arranged, signed entries (including one contributed by Washington and Lee Professor Mark Rush) on "political theories, concepts, research frameworks, and political practices from across the world."

Five-volume set (2nd edition; 2000) probably is the most comprehensive encyclopedia focusing on sociology ever published, containing nearly 400 substantial signed articles.