JOURNALISM 101: INTRODUCTION TO MASS COMMUNICATIONS - W20 (Professor Swasy)

Winter 2020
https://libguides.wlu.edu/jour101swasy

Does W&L Have This Article?

You can use an option on the library homepage entitled Journal Search to enter the title of the journal or magazine you are looking for. 

Be sure to take note of the limited years of coverage (if any) for each option.

Specialized Scholarly and Professional Databases

Mostly valuable for journal and magazine articles published within the past twenty or so years, although some older articles are available.

Finding Articles -- Another Option

A prominent new-ish option on the library's homepage is a database called Primo, which contains a lot of links to articles and other materials, but it does NOT provide you with access to everything to which the library subscribes.  It's fine as a starting point, but probably will not adequately cover a lot of research topics.

For coverage that focuses on academic journals in politics, media and mass communications, sociology, psychology, business, and related fields, consult the databases above

Getting an Article's Text

In many cases, an entry in one of our databases will direct you to the complete text of an article.

But what do you do when the text is not immediately available?  How do you know if we have access to an article?

 

 

Serials Solutions 360 Link

This link, found in many databases, will take you to a page which will present your options, which may include (1) other databases, and/or (2) interlibrary loan.

 

 

Interlibrary Loan

This option enables W&L students and faculty to get copies of articles or other materials -- without charge -- from other libraries across the U.S.    Click here to begin.   (For more information, see this page.)

 

 

Does W&L Have This Magazine (or Journal or Newspaper)?

You usually can answer this question by searching our Full Text Journal List.