Most recent information from of this "annual report on American journalism," covering major trends, content analysis, audience, economics, ownership, online trends, and more. From the Project for Excellence in Journalism. You also can read earlier editions.
Created under the auspices of the Interntional Communication Association and published in 2008 as a 12-volume set, this digital product contains over 1,300 signed entries, up to 6,000 words in length, "spanning the scholarship, evidence, and methodology of communication research."
Two-volume set, published in 2009, contains about 300 alphabetically-arranged signed essays on "the theories that explain numerous aspects of communication and presents the background issues and concepts that comprise these theories."
2018 volume contains about 40 essays (including one by W&L faculty member Mark Coddington) demonstrating how "a field that itself has emerged only recently... has developed rapidly to present a more complex and richer set of academic discussions." You may preview the contents.
Six-volume set (2009) contains more than 350 signed entries covering "all significant dimensions of journalism, including print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues and court cases; ownership; and economics." Contributors include W&L Associate Professor of Journalism and Mass Communications Doug Cumming. [ Preview ]
2015 volume contains 16 original essays, each of which "introduces the reader to a specific topic, reviews the literature on the development of knowledge in the field, explores critiques of the approach, and provides an understanding of applying this knowledge... You may preview the contents.
Reference Works -- Related Fields
Here are some social science encyclopedias and other sources often used in journalism research.
Collection of respected sources which provide country-by-country data and analysis. Some offer broad overviews of conditions and issues, while others focus on narrower issues -- human rights, business, press freedom, energy, etc.
This is the third edition (2003) of the most comprehensive encyclopedia on American history, comprising ten volumes in printed form. The 4,400 signed articles range in length up to 7,000 words. [ preview ]