Does W&L Have This Article?
You can use an option on the library homepage entitled Journal Search to enter the title of the journal or magazine you are looking for.
- An example: Journal of Environmental Law
Be sure to take note of the limited years of coverage (if any) for each option.
Article Databases -- Law Reviews and Other Law Journals
-
HeinOnline Law Journal Library This link opens in a new windowA multifaceted repository of online materials for legal and historical research. (W&L Law Library subscription)
-
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text content of more than 250 of the world's most respected scholarly law journals, covering "issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world" -- constitutional law, criminal justice, environmental law, commercial law, ethical issues, etc. Chronological coverage varies among sources, with some extending back to the early 1990's.
Article Databases -- Specialized Scholarly
These databases specialize in locating articles in scholarly or academic journals and related sources.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Excellent starting point. Multidisciplinary article database offers access to more than 16,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers, including over 15,000 peer-reviewed journals.
-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of sociology and its sub-disciplines, with very good coverage of related areas of study, especially politics. In addition to full-text journals, it contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive source for bibliographic coverage of psychology and behavioral sciences literature. Subjects covered include education, linguistics, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, physiology, psychiatry, sociology, and other areas.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of over 1,100 important scholarly journals. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years, based on JSTOR's agreement with the journal's publisher.
Finding Articles -- Another Approach
A prominent new-ish entry on the library's homepage is a database called Primo, which contains a lot of links to articles and other materials, but it does not focus on politics, social science, or law journals.
Other databases listed above, such as SocIndex, are more useful for focusing on social science journals, and there are several specialized law-related databases.