Washington and Lee University LibGuides: LIT 180: FROM PAGE TO STAGE TO CELLULOID: CARMEN (Professor Fregnac-Clave): Find Articles

Need help? Contact me!

Article Databases -- Specialized Scholarly

These databases specialize in locating articles in scholarly/academic journals and related sources.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Excellent starting point. Multidisciplinary article database offers access to more than 16,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers, including over 15,000 peer-reviewed journals.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of sociology and its sub-disciplines, with very good coverage of related areas of study, especially politics. In addition to full-text journals, it contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Coverage of over 2,000 journals in history, film studies, religion, philosophy, and other fields within the humanities.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text content of more than 250 of the world's most respected scholarly law journals, covering "issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world" -- constitutional law, criminal justice, environmental law, commercial law, ethical issues, etc. Chronological coverage varies among sources, with some extending back to the early 1990's.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of over 1,100 important scholarly journals. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years, based on JSTOR's agreement with the journal's publisher.

Modern Newspaper Articles

Here are databases which specialize in searching and providing texts of newpaper articles published from the 1990's to date. (You can occasionally find older articles.)

NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Articles from 9,000+ U.S. and international full-text information sources, mostly newspapers and wire services. Able to focus a search on news sources from one region of the world or even from one U.S. state at a time.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Highly respected database covers 7,000 sources for legal information, news sources, and business research. Extensive legal coverage includes law reviews, court cases, statutes, regulations, and more. News sources feature hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers and broadcast transcripts. Business research includes Company Investigator.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
International business and news coverage from over 14,000 sources, including newspapers, news wires, magazines, trade journals, radio and television transcripts, etc. Contemporary coverage of the New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.

Factiva searches for the exact phrase you enter. For example, 'speech recognition software' will find articles that contain those three terms adjacent to each other and in that order.

Combining Terms: Use AND, OR, NOT. For example, 'mci communications AND speech recognition software' will find articles containing both 'mci communications' and 'speech recognition software.'

Truncation: Add an asterisk (*) to the end of a word to search for all forms of that term. Example: congress*.

NOTE: When finished with Factiva, please click on the 'logout' selection in the top right corner of the screen to keep all available accounts open for other users.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text, cover-to-cover coverage of over 1,200 U.S. and international newspapers, plus selective full-text coverage for an additional 335 U.S. newspapers and transcripts from broadcast news sources. In most cases, chronological coverage extends back only several years, although some coverage begins in the 1990's.

Finding Articles -- Another Approach

A prominent new option on the library's homepage is a database called Primo, which is an attempt to present all the contents of our databases in one search tool, but it does NOT provide you with access to everything to which the library subscribes. It's fine as a starting point, but probably will not adequately cover a lot of research topics.

A sample search of "Articles Only": kapernick AND (police* OR "law enforcement")