JOURNALISM 101: INTRODUCTION TO MASS COMMUNICATIONS (Professor Cumming)

http://libguides.wlu.edu/jour101cumming

Article Databases -- Broad Coverage

Articles in a wide range of publications, including popular, news, and opinion magazines, newspapers, and major academic/scholarly journals.

Specialized Scholarly and Professional Databases

Mostly valuable for journal and magazine articles published within the past twenty or so years, although some older articles are available.

Who Has Cited This Academic Article?

If you discover a "perfect" scholarly article, you can use Google Scholar to find out if more recent articles have cited it.  
Search for the title of the article (within quotation marks) and look for the result's "Cited by..." list.   For example, this 2013 W&L-related article has been cited 46+ times in the Google Scholar database.

 

Getting an Article's Text

In many cases, an entry in one of our databases will direct you to the complete text of an article.

But what do you do when the text is not immediately available?  How do you know if we have access to an article?

 

 

Serials Solutions 360 Link

This link, found in many databases, will take you to a page which will present your options, which may include (1) other databases, and/or (2) interlibrary loan.

 

 

Interlibrary Loan

This option enables W&L students and faculty to get copies of articles or other materials -- without charge -- from other libraries across the U.S.       (For more information, see this page.)

 

 

Does W&L Have This Magazine (or Journal or Newspaper)?

You usually can answer this question by searching our Full Text Journal List.