POVERTY AND HUMAN CAPABILITY 423: POVERTY: A RESEARCH SEMINAR

Winter 2018
http://libguides.wlu.edu/pov423

Find Books at Washington and Lee

The catalog listing of books in W&L libraries is now embedded within the "Search Primo" option on the University Library homepage.  You can search this database to discover printed books in W&L library collections, online books W&L has purchased, and other online books to which we have access.

Searching for a Topic

The default search is to search for keywords -- words which appear anywhere in descriptions of books (titles, contents, designated subject terms, etc.).  Please note that you can use the "Books only" search option.

The "Advanced Search" option (linked above) enables you to specify words in titles or subject headings.

Interlibrary Loan -- Books

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) enables current W&L undergraduate students, faculty, and staff to use other libraries' collections to borrow books or other printed materials and/or receive electronic copies of articles.

Fill out the form with as much information as you know about any book not in our collection.  Turnaround time for borrowing books (from request-to-arrival) usually is about a week, although that is not guaranteed.

Poverty Studies Capstone Papers

Find Dissertations

Doctoral dissertations are not published books, but can be considered book-length scholarly studies.
W&L subscribes to a database which offers the complete texts of over 1 million dissertations and theses.

Find Books in Other Libraries

You can discover books (and other materials) not available in W&L libraries by using the WorldCat database, which contains the holdings of hundreds of library catalogs -- books, DVD's, digital materials, etc.

W&L researchers have access to two forms of the WorldCat database:

W&L researchers can request most items found in WorldCat via Interlibrary Loan.