Need help? Contact me!
Emily Cook
she/her
Subjects: Africana Studies, Art, Classics, East Asian Languages and Literatures, East Asian Studies, French, German, History, Italian, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Literature in Translation, Medieval and Renaissance Studies, Middle East & South Asian Studies, Music, Philosophy, Religion, Russian, Russian Area Studies, Spanish
Recommended Databases
The following databases may be particularly relevant to the study of food and tea in Japan.
Databases are basically just buckets of content, including materials that are grouped by a theme, discipline, topic, or material format.
- Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowOffers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
- ARTstor image database This link opens in a new windowThe Artstor Digital Library is a resource containing over 2 million images from the world's museums, archives, libraries, scholars, and artists. Use Artstor to find images for papers, presentations, and study in the humanities. You must register for an account to use many of Artstor’s features, such as downloading images, curating groups of images, and downloading groups of images to PowerPoint.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowCoverage of over 2,000 journals in history, film studies, religion, philosophy, and other fields within the humanities.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA digital archive of over 1,100 important scholarly journals. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years, based on JSTOR's agreement with the journal's publisher.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to about 600 journals from academic publishers.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of sociology and its sub-disciplines, with very good coverage of related areas of study, especially politics. In addition to full-text journals, it contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
Interlibrary Loan
The Library can't own or subscribe to every piece of research ever created...that's why we have interlibrary loan!
If you need to use an article or book not in the library's collection, place an interlibrary loan request. The University Library can borrow materials from libraries across the globe.