Environmental Studies in GeologyGEOL 360: Tectonics and Thermochronology
This is the "Geology" page of the "Geology Subject Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Geology Subject Guide  

Last Updated: Dec 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.wlu.edu/geology Print Guide RSS Updates

Geology Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How to use this guide

This guide contains help and resources for your research in Geology.  Use the red tabs at the top to navigate between different types of resources.  For general help with your Geology research, use the Find Books and Find Articles tabs.  For specific course help, use the Course Guides tab.  If you have questions, contact Mary Abdoney, Science Librarian.

 

Rate this Guide

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Cycle of Scholarly Communication

Learn how scholarly literature comes to be!

Click the arrow below to proceed through the presentation

View this full screen

All Geology Databases

  • AAPG Datapages  
      
      Icon
    Search journals published by the American Association of Petroleum Geologists, including AAPG Bulletin, AAPG Special Volumes, Bulletin of Canadian Petroleum Geology, Journal of Petroleum Geology, Journal of Sedimentary Research. Coverage varies from 1917 to present. Also includes publications by several regional groups.
  • American Geophysical Union  
      
      Icon
    Search the journals published by the AGU, which includes both general and very specialized titles. AGU currently publishes a weekly newspaper, Eos; eighteen peer reviewed research journals; nine book series plus a number of miscellaneous books and maps; and assorted special reports.
  • Annual Review of Earth and Planetary Sciences  
      
      Icon
    Synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature and identifies the principal contributions in Earth Sciences in one annual volume. Search or browse. Full text access from 1996 to present.
  • GSA Publications Online  
      
      Icon
    Search the materials published by the Geological Society of America, including journals, maps, field guides, memoirs, and special papers. W&L has full-text access to GSA Bulletin and Geology. A retrospective search is also available, but does not include full-text.
  • GeoRef  Icon
    Nearly 2 million records about geology and earth sciences. Contains earth science references and the index terms that describe them, scanned from more than 25,150 journals in 40 languages. New books, maps, and reports are also scanned. References include a complete bibliographic citation. 1785 to the present (North American); 1933 to the present (entire world). Updated twice monthly.
  • GeoScience World  
      
      Icon
    GeoScienceWorld is a nonprofit formed by a group of leading geoscientific organizations to make geoscience research easily and economically available via the Internet. The founding organizations include: American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG), American Geological Institute (AGI), Geological Society of America (GSA), The Geological Society of London (GSL), Mineralogical Society of America (MSA), Society for Sedimentary Geology (SEPM), and Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG).
  • ScienceDirect  
      
      Icon
    Online full text access to our subscriptions to journals published by Elsevier, with an archive starting in 1995. The database allows searching on over 1,700 journals from Elsevier Science including top titles such as The Lancet, Cell, and Tetrahedron
  • Scopus  
      
      Icon
    Described as the largest citation-and-abstract database in the world, Scopus features broad coverage of scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences literature, as covered in about 14,000 peer-reviewed resources, as well as Web sites from the Scirus database. Scopus also functions as a citation-indexing tool.
  • Mineralogy Database  
      
      Icon
    Mineralogy Database is a comprehensive collection of information on over 4,442 mineral species. Categories include crystallography, structure, chemical composition, Dana and Strunz classifications as well as references, photos, and news. There are several Java-enabled applications, such as the 'jPOWD Applet for Crystal Structures' which allows the user to manipulate structures by turning atoms and bonds on/off, spinning the structure, zooming, etc.
  • USGS GEO-DATA Explorer (GEODE)  Icon
    Provides digital geographically referenced data. Retrieve, display, and manipulate multiple types of information, such as satellite images, geologic maps, graphics, live camera feed, three-dimensional images, and spreadsheet data. The available data coverages are dynamic, as they are frequently updated; some datasets are international in scope, and some are specific to the United States. Users can combine these datasets to design their own maps and digital products.

Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Mary Abdoney
Logo - FacebookLogo - Google TalkLogo - LinkedInLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Telford Science Library
Washington and Lee University
Lexington, Virginia 24450
540.458.8647
Send Email
Office Location:
Telford Science Library Level 3, behind circulation desk
Resume:
PDF
 
Washington and Lee University Library | 204 West Washington Street | Lexington, Virginia 24450 | (540) 458-8643
Copyright © Washington and Lee University | Privacy Policy | Email Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip