This is the "Getting Started" page of the "MOVIE REVIEWS AND OTHER ARTICLES ON FILMS" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MOVIE REVIEWS AND OTHER ARTICLES ON FILMS  

http://libguides.wlu.edu/filmarticles
Last Updated: Apr 18, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wlu.edu/filmarticles Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What's Here

Feeling harried?

This site is intended to get you started with searching for articles about movies in journals, magazines, and newspapers.

More extensive possibilities, including finding articles in "serious" academic journals and articles in early 20th-century publications, are available under More Possibilties, above.

The Basics

These databases are good starting points, covering the best-known academic journals and magazines.

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
      Icon
    Excellent starting point for its breadth of coverage, with articles from more than 9,500 journals and magazines, mostly published since the early 1990's.
  • International Index to Film Periodicals  Icon
    Not a very large database, but very focused on important magazines and journals in cinema and television studies.
  • LexisNexis Academic  
      
      Icon
    Massive full-text database, containing millions of documents from over 12,000 sources, primarily newspapers and magazines. No coverage of "serious" journals.
 

Thinking About Searching

Several of the "article databases" to which we subscribe contain large numbers of references to reviews, essays, and other articles about particular movies.

If you are looking for information on a movie with a very distinctive title, that title probably is the only search term you need. Examples: "big lebowski" or "chimes at midnight"

However, if the title is not unique and/or it also might be the title of a book, you probably will need to refine your search by including some cinematic terms.

Example: crash AND (movie* OR film* OR motion OR cinema)

The asterisk in the above examples generates a search in most databases for various forms of a word (singular, plural, etc.).  

If you want to search for a multi-word phrase, as in the Big Lebowski and Chimes at Midnight examples above, enclose the search terms within quotation marks.

 

Getting the Article

Do we have this article?

What do you do when a citation is not accompanied by the complete text of an article? 

 

WebBridge:  Look for this button WebBridge next to database citations. Clicking on it will open a display of options for getting to the text of the article, such as other W&L databases and listings in the library catalog.  (See this example.)   
The "last resort" option may be Interlibrary Loan (box below).

 

Journal Finder:  This option can be used to determine if W&L has access to the periodical (journal, magazine, or newspaper) in which a desired article appears.

Enter all or some of the title of the periodical (not the title of the article) to find out if we have direct access in electronic, printed, and/or microprint format -- and if the year you need is available.

This option also available on the library's homepage in the "Journals/Newspaper" tab.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) enables current W&L undergraduate students, faculty, and staff to use other libraries' collections to borrow books or other printed materials and/or receive electronic copies of articles.

Washington and Lee University Library | 204 West Washington Street | Lexington, Virginia 24450 | (540) 458-8643
Copyright © Washington and Lee University | Privacy Policy | Email Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip