Contact us!
For additional information on print and electronic resources available to you and the information on this Guide, please contact a librarian at LawRef@wlu.edu.
For additional information on W&L bar courses, the bar exam components, studying assistance and tips, creating a bar exam study schedule, etc., please contact Prof. Leila Lawlor at llawlor@wlu.edu.
For questions regarding the bar exam application process or materials, please contact Dean Maria Saez Tatman at msaeztatman@wlu.edu.
Looking for a Notary?
In the Law School:
Sue Coffey, Lewis Hall 233A (540-458-8981 or CoffeyS@wlu.edu)
Brittany Fix, Lewis Hall 348 (540-458-8550 or BFix@wlu.edu)
Victoria Johnston, Lewis Hall 348 (540-458-8544 or VJohnston@wlu.edu)
Brianne Kleinert, Lewis Hall 245 (540-458-8567 or KleinertB@wlu.edu)
Emma Martone, Lewis Hall 324 (540-458-8541 or EMartone@wlu.edu)
Sheryl Salm, Lewis Hall 105 (540-458-8482 or SalmS@wlu.edu)
Milea Webb, Lewis Hall 322 (540-458-8584 or MWebb@wlu.edu)
Other Notaries on W&L's campus are listed online.
The Uniform Bar Examination (UBE) is coordinated by the NCBE and is composed of the MEE, two MPT tasks, and the MBE. It is uniformly administered, graded, and scored and results in a portable score that can be transferred to other UBE jurisdictions. For a list of jurisdictions that administer the UBE, please see the map at the bottom of this page.
The UBE is administered over two days, with the MBE given on the last Wednesday of February and July and the MEE and MPT given on the Tuesday prior to that. Jurisdictions that use the UBE may also require applicants to complete a jurisdiction-specific law component.
NCBE scores the MBE component of the UBE. Jurisdictions grade the MEE and MPT components. The MEE and MPT scores are scaled to the MBE and UBE total scores are calculated by the NCBE. The MBE is weighted 50%, the MEE 30%, and the MPT 20%. UBE total scores are reported on a 400-point scale. Jurisdictions set their own minimum passing scores for the UBE.
According to the NCBE, “[t]he UBE is designed to test knowledge and skills that every lawyer should be able to demonstrate prior to becoming licensed to practice law. It results in a portable score that can be used to apply for admission in other UBE jurisdictions.”
The Law Library contains a special Bar Success Collection of resources to help you prepare for the bar exam. This collection is located in the Main Reading Room on Level 3A.
The Library also has eBook collections that can assist you in studying:
Below is a sampling of the print and electronic resources available from the Law Library:
Bar Exam Preparation and Experiential Learning for Law Students by
Reading Bar Exam MPT Preparation & Experiential Learning For Law Students: Interactive Performance Test Training will help you master the performance test portion of the bar exam during law school. Working through the PT questions and sample answers, you will: - Give yourself a down payment for success on the bar exam - Gain critical exposure to practical lawyering skills that will help you transition effectively to law practice - Find that law school comes alive, especially if you have thus far seen it as "just" reading and briefing cases - Begin to see yourself not just as a student, but as a practicing attorney Law students used to postpone even thinking about the bar exam until after graduation. They then did nothing but study for two months. Today's law students have more pressure, more riding on outcomes, and much more student loan debt than prior generations. To ensure bar exam success, you must start bar prep early--during law school--and master strategies to pass every part of the exam. This book will help you do just that--pass the performance test portion of your bar exam. In the role-play simulations in this title's online performance tests, you will "represent" almost a dozen clients in criminal and civil litigation, and in transactional matters. You will practice drafting memos, briefs, discovery plans, affidavits, closing arguments, cross examinations, and more.
Rigos Primer Series Uniform Bar Exam (UBE) Review Multistate Essay Exam (MEE) by
Updated for all NCBE content changes, this 2019 MEE edition contains a thorough but concise review of all subjects tested on the Uniform Bar Exam (UBE) Multistate Essay Exam (MEE). Included are Magic Memory Outlines, up-to-date past MEE questions' subject and issue frequency distributions charts, sample essays with complete solutions, dozens of very helpful acronym/mnemonics, and boiler plate definitions of all major issues tested.Rigos MEE contains: 1. Succinct explanations of the most frequently tested essay subjects rules. The text is very concise and focused, containing only the breadth and depth of information you need to successfully answer the MEE essays.2. Text contains numerous acronyms-mnemonics and Rigos UBE tips to help you memorize frequently tested legal elements and perfect an essay checklist approach. The text is written in a lecture format, and may either be used in a review class structure or organized self-study format. 3. Five full essay questions per subject with summarized pointer grading guides and model answers for all MEE only subjects and the seven MBE subjects.4. Magic Memory Outlines facilitate your summary of the controlling law.5. Full course upgrade to essay grading and improvement suggestion service is available for an extra cost.
A Short and Happy Guide to the Bar Exam's Multistate Essay Examination (MEE) by
A "Short & Happy Guide to the MEE" is shorter than other books on the bar exam because its sole focus is the Multistate Essay Examination. It is a one-source resource for what you need to maximize your performance on the MEE--not a generic essay writing guide, but a treasury of information, issue identification, and subject area frameworks tailored specifically for the MEE. This book is not intended to replace a bar review course for the substantive law you need to know to pass the bar exam. However, a bar review course does not show you how to turn the law into point-worthy essays. We do. We teach you everything that you need to know about preparing for and taking the MEE to achieve the highest possible essay scores, beginning with how to use the individual Subject Charts (organized by MEE subject) and Table of Issues (organized by bar administration). These charts identify every issue and sub-issue tested on the MEE over the past 14 years, thus letting you see the frequency of tested topics and gain familiarity with how they are tested. When combined with our unique strategies for writing under timed conditions, developing a well-organized answer, and writing a solid analysis, you are ready to write your way to bar passage.
Strategies and Tactics for the MBE by
A popular and long-standing resource for individuals studying for the Multistate Bar Exam (MBE), Strategies & Tactics for the MBE has been thoroughly revised and updated to include new questions and reflect recent changes made by the NCBE to the Multistate Bar Exam. This text is highlighted by more than 550 questions, complete with thorough explanations of right and wrong answers. Detailed advice on how to handle MBE questions on each subject, and a focus on the most popular and trickiest MBE topics helps users to focus their studies. Strategies, such as how to "reword" questions to make them easier to analyze, are included, and explanations are in simple, easy-to-understand language.
Strategies and Tactics for the MBE 2 by
A comprehensive resource created in the successful style of Strategies and Tactics for the MBE, Strategies and Tactics for the MBE 2 provides 300 additional questions to help you prepare for the Multistate Bar Exam (MBE)! Success on the MBE can often influence whether you pass or fail the Bar Exam. It is important to understand the issues of law tested on the exam and to learn how the exam questions are written to test your understanding of the law. With its comprehensive explanations of why one answer choice is the best answer and why the other choices are not, Strategies andamp; Tactics for the MBE 2 helps you gain the ability to select the best answer choice with certainty. The 300 questions in Strategies andamp; Tactics for the MBE 2 are organized by subject area (Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law and Procedure, Evidence, Torts, and Real Property). Within each subject area, questions are broken down by subtopic, allowing you to locate and practice questions in your trouble areas. The answer explanations are clear and concise -- as you have come to expect from the Strategies andamp; Tactics series. Strategies andamp; Tactics for the MBE features: 300 additional questions to those featured in Strategies andamp; Tactics for the MBE Questions organized by subject matter subtopics, so you can easily locate questions on the topics on which you need to focus Comprehensive, step-by-step explanations for each of the four answer choices in each question Answer explanations written by Steven Emanuel, Editor-in-Chief of Emanuel Bar Review and author of Emanuel Law Outlines in the MBE-subject areas -- the Outlines that got you through law school. Student-tested content from the Emanuel Bar Review series, which resulted in pass rates 10% higher than average in major markets. * Based on passage rates of students who used Emanuel Bar Review materials in California and New York for Bar Exams in 2008 and 2009.
Multistate Bar Exam Flash Cards by
Study anytime, anywhere! Emanuel Law in a Flash comprehensive flash cards are ideal for reviewing legal topics point by point. Each card has a concise question on one side and an accurate answer on the reverse side. These cards are the only product of their kind. With this set of Law in a Flash, you have the foundation for excellent exam preparation for the multistate bar exam (MBE). After going through the set, card by card and issue by issue, you will be able to face the exam with the confidence of knowing and understanding every rule. Emanuel Law in a Flash Cards' features: and#8226;Test your knowledge of black letter law and#8226;Apply the law to hypothetical examples and#8226;Use individually or in group sessions and#8226;Use them anywhere, anytime and#8226;Great for exam prep This title is also available as a mobile app for the iPhone and iPod Touch. See details at www.AspenLaw.com/mobile.
Multistate Bar Exam by
The fifth edition of Blond's Multistate Bar Exam features updated questions that follow the format used on the Multistate Bar Exam (MBE). Perfect for students who want to test their knowledge against original questions and target and improve weak
Rigos Primer Series Uniform Bar Exam (UBE) Review Series MBE Volume 2 by
The 2016 edition of this Rigos Uniform Bar Exam (UBE) Review Series Multistate Bar Exam (MBE) text and questions are presented in two volumes. Volume 2 contains the four subjects of Evidence, Constitutional Law, Criminal Law and Procedure, and Federal Civil Procedure. Magic Memory Outlines, question maps, multiple-choice questions, and full rationale answers related to the textual coverage are included. The essay questions, answers, and related issue distribution charts testing these MBE subjects are included in the Rigos UBE 2016 MEE text. Consider purchasing the MBE and MEE combined set.
There are multiple resources that provide sample questions and answers for the UBE:
If you’re looking to purchase additional resources yourself:
(updated Feb. 22, 2024)
