Profile
Article Databases -- General
Articles in a wide range of publications, including popular, news, and opinion magazines, newspapers, and major academic/scholarly journals.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Excellent starting point. Multidisciplinary article database offers access to more than 16,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers, including over 15,000 peer-reviewed journals.
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Highly respected database covers 7,000 sources for legal information, news sources, and business research. Extensive legal coverage includes law reviews, court cases, statutes, regulations, and more. News sources feature hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers and broadcast transcripts. Business research includes Company Investigator.
Article Databases -- State Newspapers
NewsBank Access World News
Use this commercial database to search a state's newspapers (and other media sources) for recent articles, all of which are provided in full-text form.
- Just click on the map for your state.
- You will need to enter at least one search term -- maybe a candidate's name.
- Search results initially will be arranged by "Best Matches First." For the most recent coverage, click on the "View -- Newest First" option, above the list of results.
Newspapers Listed by State
Browse through newspapers (and other media sites) available in each U.S. state, using these free services.
Two of the collections --- Capital Newspapers and Major State Newspapers on the Internet -- offer convenient access to just one or two major newspapers in each state.
More extensive lists of U.S. newspapers are available through Kidon.com and NewsVoyager and OnlineNewspapers.com.
Article Databases -- Specialized Scholarly
These databases specialize in locating articles in scholarly/academic journals and related sources.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of over 1,100 important scholarly journals. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years, based on JSTOR's agreement with the journal's publisher.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to over 600 journals in communication, mass media, and related fields, as well as books, reports, dissertations, and other resources. Includes full-text articles from over 500 journals.
- Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text content of more than 250 of the world's most respected scholarly law journals, covering "issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world" -- constitutional law, criminal justice, environmental law, commercial law, ethical issues, etc. Chronological coverage varies among sources, with some extending back to the early 1990's.