Mary Abdoney
Article Databases -- General Coverage
Articles in a wide range of publications, including popular, news, and opinion magazines, newspapers, and major academic/scholarly journals.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Excellent starting point. Multidisciplinary article database offers access to more than 16,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers, including over 15,000 peer-reviewed journals.
- W&L Library "Search Everything"An attempt to list all W&L library resources (articles, books, etc.) in one database, although it falls well short of that.
You might give it a try if the more specialized databases in a research guide are not succeeding.
Article Databases -- Specialized Scholarly
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of sociology and its sub-disciplines, with very good coverage of related areas of study, especially politics. In addition to full-text journals, it contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive source for bibliographic coverage of psychology and behavioral sciences literature. Subjects covered include education, linguistics, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, physiology, psychiatry, sociology, and other areas.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Coverage of "emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods." Full-text coverage of 570 journals and magazines, of which 551 are peer-reviewed.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education, including "all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing." Full-text content from more than 950 journals, plus indexing of over 1,800 additional journals, some back to the 1980's. Other materials includes full-text conference papers, books, and monographs.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
The link above takes users to the free, public-domain form of the database which is the largest education database in the world.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Described as the largest citation-and-abstract database in the world, Scopus features broad coverage of scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences literature, as covered in about 14,000 peer-reviewed resources, as well as academic Web sites from the Scirus database. Scopus also functions as a citation-indexing tool.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
An especially valuable form of secondary literature. Articles in the Annual Review series are comprehensive, dependable, and offer sizable bibliographies; if you can find an article on your topic, it will probably point you to most of the relevant primary literature which had appeared up to its publication date, and give you a firm basis for understanding the evolution of research traditions in that subfield.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of over 1,100 important scholarly journals. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years, based on JSTOR's agreement with the journal's publisher.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to about 600 journals from academic publishers.
Is the Article "Scholarly?"
If you need to determine whether or not a given periodical (journal or magazine) is a "scholarly" or "academic" resource, you can search for information on that periodical in the Ulrichsweb directory.
Here, Content Type may be described as "Academic / Scholarly" and the status of the journal as "Refereed" (or peer-reviewed) may be indicated by this charming icon:
A journal's policies on article submissions and publication also usually are available in each issue -- as in this example -- but this information may be hard to find when you use an article in online form.