Mary Abdoney
Broad Coverage of Magazines and Journals
Articles in a wide range of publications, including popular, news, and opinion magazines, newspapers, and major academic/scholarly journals.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Excellent starting point. Multidisciplinary article database offers access to more than 16,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers, including over 15,000 peer-reviewed journals.
- W&L Library "Search Everything"An attempt to list all W&L library resources (articles, books, etc.) in one database, although it falls well short of that.
You might give it a try if the more specialized databases in a research guide are not succeeding.
Coverage of Specialized Business and Economics Magazines and Journals
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new windowPremier resource for finding articles in thousands of business and management magazines, journals, newspapers, and other sources. You might try changing the "Citation and Abstract" drop-down menu to "Company/Org" before searching for a company name.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source covers business journals, magazines, and newspapers. About 7,000 publications, over 2,000 of which are peer-reviewed journals, as well as other resources, including financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. You might try changing the "select a field" drop-down menu to "CO Company Entity" before searching for a company name.
- EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconLit, published by the American Economic Association, provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. It is an expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) covering both economic theory and application, and indexes journal articles, working papers, books, articles (chapters) in collective works, and dissertations.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
International business and news coverage from over 14,000 sources, including newspapers, news wires, magazines, trade journals, radio and television transcripts, etc. Contemporary coverage of the New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.
More Coverage of Newspapers
Here are databases which specialize in searching and providing texts of newpaper articles published from the 1990's to date. (In some databases, earlier articles are also included.)
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Highly respected database covers 7,000 sources for legal information, news sources, and business research. Extensive legal coverage includes law reviews, court cases, statutes, regulations, and more. News sources feature hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers and broadcast transcripts. Business research includes Company Investigator.
- NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Articles from 9,000+ U.S. and international full-text information sources, mostly newspapers and wire services. Able to focus a search on news sources from one region of the world or even from one U.S. state at a time.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text, cover-to-cover coverage of over 1,200 U.S. and international newspapers, plus selective full-text coverage for an additional 335 U.S. newspapers and transcripts from broadcast news sources. In most cases, chronological coverage extends back only several years, although some coverage begins in the 1990's.