This is the "Current Exhibits" page of the "Exhibits in Leyburn Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Exhibits in Leyburn Library  

Last Updated: Apr 2, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wlu.edu/leyburnexhibits Print Guide RSS Updates

Current Exhibits Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

A Celebration of Black History: Materials from the Strouss Collection of Theatricalia

On display are an original poster of the musical HAIR, original playbills featuring black artists in theater and opera, and various scans of original posters held in the Strouss Collection in Special Collections, among them an autographed poster by Louis Armstrong.

Curated by Montrose Grandberry and the Special Collections staff and student workers.

Month of February and early March

Main Floor, Leyburn Library

 

 

Sacred to the Memory: Artistic Photographs of the Stonewall Jackson Memorial Cemetery

Artistic photograhs by Jan Tratnik at the Stonewall Jackson Memorial Cemetery in Lexington in 2013.

Permanent. Lower Level 1 Hallway

 

Historic Images of The Natural Bridge of Virginia

A wonderful sampling of historical materials from the library's Special Collections on The Natural Bridge of Virginia . Photographs by Michael Miley, vintage postcards, a deck of cards, historic books, and much more.

Lower Level One Lobby

Curated by Lisa McCown

 

The Naturalist's Library by Sir William Jardine : Birds, Bees, Monkeys, and Starfish

 

Scottish naturalist Sir William Jardine made natural history available to all levels of Victorian society by editing and issuing the hugely popular forty volumes of The Naturalist's Library (1833-1843). The series was divided into four main sections: Ornithology (14 volumes), Mammalia (13 volumes), Entomology (7 volumes), and Ichthyology( 6 volumes); each prepared by a leading naturalist. The work was published in Edinburgh by W.H. Lizars.

This display shows a number of beautiful engravings of the animal kingdom. The Naturalist's Library is available for perusal in our Special Collections department.

An online version of the set is available through the BioDiversity Heritage Library at http://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/bibliography/17346#/summary

 

Level One Lobby, outside Special Collections

Curated by Yolanda Merrill

 

Museum Studies: Student curated exhibits

Illustration/Interpretation: Art Inspired by Art

Curated by Neely Burch, Emmie Curry, and Katharine Trigg, class of 2011.

Alvin Hollingsworth
“Don Quixote and Sanco Panza”The Illustration/Interpretation exhibit features visual art inspired by the written word. These artists translated poetry and literature into an entirely different artistic medium, all the while enhancing the artistic process. The result is a communication between art forms and a powerful creative experience. We encourage the audience to take part in the interaction between artists and art through the Art in Translation project. 

 

The course is taught by Peter Grover, Pat Hobbs, and Ron Fuchs.

The exhibit is located on the wall outside of the classroom M47 on the Main Floor.

 

 

 

120 Years of Student Handbooks

Have you ever seen a Students' Hand Book from 1891? It is a little pocketbook that the gentlemen students could carry in their jacket.

Full of information about life on and off campus and filled with lovely advertisements. A number of handbooks are on display.

 

  

Main Floor, by the Current Periodicals

 

 

 

 

 

 

Curated by Yolanda Merrill

 

Library Posters by Lance Hidy

Posters by graphic artist Lance Hidy. Includes the artist's poster designed for the dedication of Leyburn Library in 1994.

 

 

 

 

 

Main Floor - Book Nook back wall. Permanent exhibit.

Gift of Barbara Brown, former University Librarian

 

 

 

Landscape Photography by Lloyd Goad

Large size photographs by Lloyd Goad, W&L's Technology Support Specialist for the Williams School.

 

 

 

Computer Lab, Level 1 stacks

On loan by the artist

 

 

 

 

 

 

Screen Prints by Robert Indiana

Six large format prints signed by the artist and dedicated "for Lowell".

The screen prints were donated to the university by artist Lowell Nesbitt.

    

On permanent display. Seminar Room 103, Level 1 stack area

On loan from University Collections of Art and History (W&L)

 

 

 

 

 

Beyond Text and Image: The Book as Art (online)

Images from the exhibit "Beyond Text and Image: The Book as Art", curated by Yolanda Merrill in Staniar Gallery, W&L, in Spring 2010.

    

Watch the online exhibit by clicking here.

  

 

Antique Scientific Instruments at Washington and Lee

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

Antique Scientific Instruments from the University Collection.  This exhibit was on display in 2012. The online exhibit shows all instruments in great detail, and each instrument is accompanied by a description of its use.

Link to online exhibit of these instruments .

Curated by Yolanda Merrill

 

 

Past Exhibits (2009-)

2013

  • First Editions by Larry McMurtry from the Roger Mudd Collection of Southern Literature
  • Michael Miley: Lexington Photographer
  • George Washington Custis Lee: 100th Anniversary of his Death
  • Sacred to the Memory: Artistic Photographs of the Stonewall Jackson Memorial Cemetery
  • Natural Bridge Envisioned: Past, Present, and Future

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

2012

  • First Editions by Ann Tyler and ....  from the Roger Mudd Collection of Southern Literature
  • First Editions by William Faulkner and Ellen Glasgow , from the Roger Mudd Collection of Southern Literature
  • Michael Miley: Lexington Photographer.

 


 

 

2011

  • April through August: A Patchwork of Books: Quilting Books from the University Library collection.  (Wanda Swartz)

 

  • March:  Spring is Coming: Go for a Hike ! A display of regional guidebooks, topographical maps, plus hiking and camping paraphernalia from the Outing Club.
  • February: Playbills and Programs featuring African American Performers, including books from the library's collection on the topic. (collection donated by Henry Strouss) Honoring Black History Month.

 

  • January: Celebrating 25 Years of Undergraduate Girls at Washington and Lee.


2010

 

  • December: Old Maps of Lexington and Rockbridge Country, including postcards of the time. (from Special Collections)

 

  • October/November: W&L's literary magazine SHENANDOAH celebrates its 60th anniversary with a special issue on Flannery O'Connor. (Main Floor)

 

  • September: The Registrar's Got Your Number: the 100th Anniversary of W&L's Registrar's Office (and of the AACRAO)

Old diplomas, grade sheets, catalogs, rule sheets, commencement exercises, and much more.

 

  • May-August: A World Unto Himself: the Art of Prof. I-siung JHu. Curated by Museum Studies students Andrea Hanick and Maggie Dozier.

 

  • April: Books of Consciousness. A display about the Genocide Prevention Project. Conceived by Mercy Kibe '11.

  • Celebrating the 5th Anniversary of the Friends of the Library organization.

 

  • February and March: A Garden of Books: Gardening Books from the Library's Collection.A display by library staff Wanda Swartz and librarian Laura Turner.

  • Study Abroad Photography slideshow (and in October)

 



 

2009

November - January 2010:

Mali's Dogon Tribal Art : Pre-19th Century Pieces from the Collection of Tom McNemar

October:

Post Secret: Love Your Body Week.  Anonymous postcards by W&L students on self-esteem and body image.

Study Abroad Photography slideshow

September:

Post Secret: Love Your Body Week. Anonymous postcards by W&L students on self-esteem and body image.

 

No other exhibits this year because of the library renovation.

 

Washington and Lee University Library | 204 West Washington Street | Lexington, Virginia 24450 | (540) 458-8643
Copyright © Washington and Lee University | Privacy Policy | Email Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip