This is the "Official Congressional Publications" page of the "U.S. CONGRESS: SITES AND DOCUMENTS" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

U.S. CONGRESS: SITES AND DOCUMENTS  

http://libguides.wlu.edu/congress
Last Updated: Jul 9, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wlu.edu/congress Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Official Congressional Publications Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Important Publication Series

There are several prominent series of publications from the U.S. Congress, including those from committees and from subsidiary sites.

The publisher ProQuest offers this list of types of publications.

Searching -- Commercial Sources (W&L Subscriptions)

A few commercial publishers have digitized large quantities of Congressional publications.  Searching and access often are easier than with free sources, but use is limited to current members of the W&L community.

  • ProQuest Congressional  Icon
    Commcercially-published database is almost certainly the most comprehesive database of Congressional publications, some dating back as far as the late 1700's. Includes the complete texts of most documents. A single interface can search the entire range of documents.
  • ProQuest Congressional -- Hearings  Icon
    This sub-set of the full ProQuest Congressional database is particularly useful for research on political or social topics.
  • Hein Online -- U.S. Congressional Documents  Icon
    W&L Law School subscription offers access to Congressional Record, hearings, and more.

Laws

Official and free.

  • U. S. Statutes at Large
    Annually-published permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress. Listed numerically.
  • U.S. Code
    Annually-published subject arrangement (51"titles") of general and permanent laws of the United States.

Searching -- Free Sources

These collections of Congressional documents are provided without-charge for all users by the Federal Government. 
Online coverage generally begins with the early- to mid-1990's.

  • Federal Digital System  
      
    The U.S. Government Printing Office's Official online repository (1991- ) includes browseable collections of important Congressional publication series, including the Congressional Record.
    A separate tab provides access to Congressional committees, including their hearings.
  • Printed Volumes at W&L
    The Federal Depository Library collection in W&L's Leyburn Library includes tens of thousands of Congressional publications in printed form. This link to the library catalog (Annie) lists some of the most recent. You can use the catalog to search for these and more.

Subsidiary Agencies

These nonpartisan agencies fall within the purview of the Congress and conduct extensive investigations and research on on the functioning of government.

Contact Dick Grefe

Profile Image
Dick Grefe
 
Washington and Lee University Library | 204 West Washington Street | Lexington, Virginia 24450 | (540) 458-8643
Copyright © Washington and Lee University | Privacy Policy | Email Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip