Special Collections & Archives

James G. Leyburn Library

HOURS AND SERVICES

HOURS

 

We are open to the public from 9:00 - 4:30  Monday through Friday, except for holidays and vacations. Library hours are listed here.

In order to serve you better, we encourage you to make an appointment before your arrival. Please call 540-458-8663 or 540-458-8649. If no one answers, contact the Information Desk at 458-8643.

Location: Leyburn Library, Lower Level 1.

 

SERVICES

  • Reference assistance available during all hours of operation.
  • Special Collections materials may not be checked out but are available for examination and research in the Boatwright Reading Room.
  • Photocopying in limited quantities available at 15 cents per page.
  • Personal cameras, scanners, and laptops are allowed in the Reading Room.

 

 

Profile

Tom Camden

WELCOME

The Special Collections & Archives department acquires, preserves, arranges, describes, and makes accessible its rich holdings of secondary and primary materials to support the diverse teaching and research needs of undergraduates, graduates, faculty, staff, and the larger community. These collections document local, regional, and Virginia history. In addition, the Department is responsible for documenting the history of the university, and has a large collection of university and faculty publications, administrative records, photographs, and ephemera.

Special Collections items are non-circulating, and use of fragile or archival materials will be permitted in the Special Collections Reading Room during open hours only.

CONSULTATIONS AND CLASS VISITS

Special Collections is committed to utilizing its collections in support of the teaching and learning mission of the College.  Faculty who use Special Collections materials in their courses come from a wide range of departments and disciplines. Before a visit, the Special Collections staff works with faculty to choose relevant materials and develop a plan for the class visit. Although the visits vary, all include the opportunity for students to interact with the materials physically and intellectually. Class visits may also result in individual student projects or the creation of a class exhibit curated by students in the class and using materials from Special Collections.

If  faculty are interested in scheduling a class visit to Special Collections or in knowing what Special Collections might have that would complement their course work, please contact Tom Camden, Head of Special Collections.

HOLDINGS

  • University Archives

Alumni MagazineExamples of our holdings are: Washington and Lee University publications including the  Calyx, Alumni  Magazine, Ring-tum Phi, Trident, Shenandoah, Ariel and a large number of  other W&L publications past  and present; Faculty and Alumni publications; materials relating  to W&L's history including Trustee's  records; and student honors theses.

  •  Manuscripts

Highlights of our holdings include the Robert E. Lee Papers, the Jessie Ball duPont Papers, the George West Diehl genealogical collection, and the Papers of Congressman William Whitehurst. We have numerous collections pertaining to the history of Washington and Lee University. We have the holdings of the Rockbridge Historical Society, a wealth of material on the history of Rockbridge County.

  • Rare Books

The collection is especially strong in Virginia state and local history and family genealogical history as well as books about Robert E. Lee, George Washington and other historical figures important to W&L and the local area. Surviving volumes from Liberty Hall Academy and the nineteenth century Franklin Society Library are held. Other volumes important for their age or content, including works by local authors, are held.

Special Collections also holds a large number of maps and photographs historically significant for Washington and Lee and Rockbridge County.

 

ACCESS TO DOCUMENTS

Many of the holdings in Special Collections are listed in our Library Catalog, but some are not. If you do not find what you are looking for, stop by or call Special Collections for reference assistance.

 

MAILING ADDRESS

Department of Special Collections and Archives

James G. Leyburn Library

Washington and Lee University

204 W. Washington Street

Lexington, VA 24450