Federal Government Oversight Agencies

Congressional Research Service, Congressional Budget Office, etc.

ProQuest Congressional

Access to nearly every document created by Congress, including committee hearings.

DATABASES OF EVENTS, GROUPS, AND LEADERS

Global Terrorism Database
Information on terrorist events around the world since 1970... includes systematic data on international as well as domestic terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period." From the National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terror (START), supported by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security and the University of Maryland. See also START's Terrorist Organization Profiles database.

South Asia Terrorism Portal
A "comprehensive, searchable and continuously updated database on all available information relating to terrorism, low intensity warfare and ethnic/communal/sectarian strife in South Asia." The site also includes the weekly South Asia Intelligence Review. Maintained by the Institute for Conflict Management (ICP).

Lawson Terrorism Information Center
Research and analysis on global terrorist incidents, terrorism-related court cases, and terrorist groups and leaders... over 35 years of terrorism incident data and hundreds of group and leader profiles and trials." From the Memorial Institute for the Prevention of Terrorism (MIPT).

The Terrorist List
Edward Mickolus' list of terrorists and related figures.

Voices of Jihad
Searchable "compilation of speeches, interviews, statements, and publications of jihadist leaders, foot soldiers, and sympathizers. Nearly all content is in English translation..." (RAND Corporation)

Worldwide Incidents Tracking System (WITS)
The U.S. Counterterrorism Center (NCTC) provides a database of incidents dating from 1994.

OTHER RESOURCES

Country Reports on Terrorism
Annual report to Congress on countries and groups. Formerly Patterns of Global Terrorism. (From the U.S. State Department).

Sage Encyclopedia of Terrorism
2011 volume contains about 400 signed entries and updates the 2002 first edition, revising earlier discussions and adding about 60 new entries. You may preview the contents.

Global Terrorism Analysis
This Jamestown Foundation site offers news, analysis, and several publcation series, including Terrorism Monitor.

Terrorism: Essential Primary Sources
A 2006 collection of about 200 documents, including "speeches, magazine and newspaper articles, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, essays, and much more," on terrorism in the past three centuries. Each entry is accompanied by commentary of the document's context and significance. (Thomson Gale).

Intenational Institute for Counter-Terrorism
The ICT in Israel offers articles, reports, news, and other publications.