Current Exhibits in Leyburn Library

Profile

Unable to locate the requested Account (#0).

Current Exhibits

The Fred Farrar Collection of Historial Newspapers, Rare Books, Prints, and Manuscripts

 

Over the years, Fred Farrar '41 donated his collection of historical newspapers and other rare materials to Washington and Lee. Students and faculty alike are discovering the pleasures of working with original documents, such as civil war era newspapers from both the North and the South. This exhibit highlights some of these historical pieces.

Main Floor, exhibit nook.

Sacred to the Memory: Artistic Photographs of the Stonewall Jackson Memorial Cemetery

Artistic photograhs by Jan Tratnik of the Stonewall Jackson Memorial Cemetery in Lexington. Created in 2013, Tratnik donated this collection of 25 images to the University Library.

 

 

 

Permanent. Lower Level 1 Hallway

25 Years of Women at W&L: "Female Images from the Early Calyxes"

Calyx 1950Come and see wonderful illustrations of women through the eyes of Washington and Lee's student yearbook, The Calyx.

 

Lower Lobby, outside Special Collections

 

The Naturalist's Library by Sir William Jardine : Birds, Bees, Monkeys, and Starfish

 

Scottish naturalist Sir William Jardine made natural history available to all levels of Victorian society by editing and issuing the hugely popular forty volumes of The Naturalist's Library (1833-1843). The series was divided into four main sections: Ornithology (14 volumes), Mammalia (13 volumes), Entomology (7 volumes), and Ichthyology( 6 volumes); each prepared by a leading naturalist. The work was published in Edinburgh by W.H. Lizars.

This display shows a number of beautiful engravings of the animal kingdom. The Naturalist's Library is available for perusal in our Special Collections department.

An online version of the set is available through the BioDiversity Heritage Library at http://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/bibliography/17346#/summary

 

Level One Lobby, outside Special Collections

Curated by Yolanda Merrill

Museum Studies: Student curated exhibits

Illustration/Interpretation: Art Inspired by Art

Curated by Neely Burch, Emmie Curry, and Katharine Trigg, class of 2011.

Alvin Hollingsworth
“Don Quixote and Sanco Panza”The Illustration/Interpretation exhibit features visual art inspired by the written word. These artists translated poetry and literature into an entirely different artistic medium, all the while enhancing the artistic process. The result is a communication between art forms and a powerful creative experience. We encourage the audience to take part in the interaction between artists and art through the Art in Translation project. 

 

The course is taught by Peter Grover, Pat Hobbs, and Ron Fuchs.

The exhibit is located on the wall outside of the classroom M47 on the Main Floor.

 

 

120 Years of Student Handbooks

Have you ever seen a Students' Hand Book from 1891? It is a little pocketbook that the gentlemen students could carry in their jacket.

Full of information about life on and off campus and filled with lovely advertisements. A number of handbooks are on display.

 

  

Main Floor, by the Current Periodicals

 

 

 

 

 

 

Curated by Yolanda Merrill

Library Posters by Lance Hidy

Posters by graphic artist Lance Hidy. Includes the artist's poster designed for the dedication of Leyburn Library in 1994.

 

 

 

 

 

Main Floor - Book Nook back wall. Permanent exhibit.

Gift of Barbara Brown, former University Librarian

 

 

Landscape Photography by Lloyd Goad

Large size photographs by Lloyd Goad, W&L's Technology Support Specialist for the Williams School.

 

 

 

Computer Lab, Level 1 stacks

On loan by the artist

 

 

 

 

 

Screen Prints by Robert Indiana

Six large format prints signed by the artist and dedicated "for Lowell".

The screen prints were donated to the university by artist Lowell Nesbitt.

    

 

 

 

On permanent display. Seminar Room 103, Level 1 stack area

On loan from University Collections of Art and History (W&L)

 

 

 

 

Beyond Text and Image: The Book as Art (online)

Images from the exhibit "Beyond Text and Image: The Book as Art", curated by Yolanda Merrill in Staniar Gallery, W&L, in Spring 2010.

    

Watch the online exhibit by clicking here.

  

Antique Scientific Instruments at Washington and Lee

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

Antique Scientific Instruments from the University Collection.  This exhibit was on display in 2012. The online exhibit shows all instruments in great detail, and each instrument is accompanied by a description of its use.

Link to online exhibit of these instruments .

Curated by Yolanda Merrill