Washington and Lee University Research Guides: Mathematics: Find Articles

Mary Abdoney

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Telford Science Library

540.458.8647

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Cognitive & Behavioral Sciences, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Geoscience, Environmental Studies, Film Studies, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Physics and Engineering, Science (General), Theater, Dance, and Film Studies, Writing Program

Find Articles

Math Databases

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
An index to the scholarly literature of mathematics, including articles, books, papers, and other materials. The electronic file corresponds to the printed publications Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications which have extensive coverage of some aspects of Computer Science (especially the computational side). Many of the scholarly journals of Computer Science are included.
Coverage: 1940 (the 1940 edition of Mathematical Reviews) to the present. Updated daily.

SIAM Journals Online
Electronic editions of SIAM's journals published on an accelerated article-by-article basis. 1997 to present.
more...less...
Advanced Search allows you to search by title, author last name, abstract, keywords, and AMS classification codes. Use the drop down menus to choose which parts of the publications you want to search. (I.e., if you want to look for the word "theorem" in the abstracts of articles, select abstract so that all results contain the word "theorem" somehwere in the abstract.)
Combining Terms: there are no operators to indicate phrases, such as parentheses or double quotes.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Described as the largest citation-and-abstract database in the world, Scopus features broad coverage of scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences literature, as covered in about 14,000 peer-reviewed resources, as well as academic Web sites from the Scirus database. Scopus also functions as a citation-indexing tool.
Entries dating from 1996 include complete reference (bibliography) listings, while earlier entries (back to 1966) include only citations and abstracts.
Combining Terms You can search for entries containing two or more terms by combining them with "AND" in the search statement. Example: college AND stress
Phrases Search for a multi-word phrase by placing the terms within double quotation-marks. Example: "binge drinking"
Wildcards/Truncation The search system will automatically search for singular and plural forms of a term that is entered. Example: cell will find cell and cells.
A question-mark (?) will replace a single character in a search term. Example: analys?s will find analysis and analyses.
An asterisk (*) can replace any number of characters in a search term. Example: behav* will find behavior, behaviour, behavioral, behaviors, behaviorism, etc.
Citation Indexing Note that most entries include a "Cited By" option, which allows you to see publications which have cited the item you are viewing.
Full Text Many entries in the database include "View at Publisher" links, intended to lead you to the complete text of articles, etc. on publisher Web site. In many cases, we actually will not have access to these materials.

arXiv.org The arXiv (pronounced "archive") is a repository of electronic preprints of scientific papers in the fields of mathematics, physics, astronomy, computer science, quantitative biology, statistics, and quantitative finance, which can be accessed online.

University Library

Mathematics

Mary Abdoney

Find Articles