Biology 111: Fundamentals of BiologyBiology 211: Cell BiologyBiology 220: GeneticsBiology 243: Animal BehaviorBiology 340: EvolutionBiology 200: Research Prep in the Biosciences
This is the "Biology" page of the "Biology Subject Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biology Subject Guide  

Last Updated: Dec 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.wlu.edu/biology Print Guide RSS Updates

Biology Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How to use this guide

This guide contains help and resources for your research in the Biological Sciences.  Use the red tabs at the top to navigate between different types of resources.  For general help with your Biology research, use the Find Books and Find Articles tabs.  For specific course help, use the Course Guides tab.  If you have questions, contact Mary Abdoney, Science Librarian.

Ask the Library

 

Rate this Guide

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Cycle of Scholarly Communication

Learn how scholarly literature comes to be!

Click the arrow below to proceed through the presentation

View this full screen

All Biology Databases

  • AGRICOLA  
      
      Icon
    This is the NAL (National Agricultural Library)Catalog, covering all aspects of agriculture, forestry, and animal science, with over 3 million records from 880 sources as far back as the 15th century.
  • BioMed Central  
      
      Icon
    An independent publishing house committed to providing immediate open access to peer-reviewed biomedical research. Subjects include biochemistry, biotechnology, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, genetics, neuroscience, plant biology, psychiatry, zoology and much more.
  • BioOne  
      
      Icon
    An aggregation of 82 high-impact bioscience research journals. Most of BioOne's titles are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers.
  • Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Biological Sciences  
      
      Icon
    Abstracts and citations from 1982 to present, covering a very wide range of the biological sciences. Some subjects include biomedicine, zoology, ecology, and biotechnology. Also includes access to Biology Digest, rolling 10-year file of MEDLINE, Plant Science, rolling 5-year file of TOXLINE, Recent References, and the Web Resources Database.
  • JSTOR  
      
      Icon
    A digital archive of over 1,100 important scholarly journals. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years, based on JSTOR's agreement with the journal's publisher. August 2009 update: JSTOR is developing Data for Research, a tool for analysis of the content of the database.
  • PubMed  
      
      Icon
    The premiere index to the journal literature of medicine and related fields. It covers over 3,800 journals from the U.S. and 70 foreign countries and provides access to over 11 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases, with links to participating online journals. Updated daily. Coverage extends to 1966.
  • ScienceDirect  
      
      Icon
    Online full text access to our subscriptions to journals published by Elsevier, with an archive starting in 1995. The database allows searching on over 1,700 journals from Elsevier Science including top titles such as The Lancet, Cell, and Tetrahedron
  • Scopus  
      
      Icon
    Described as the largest citation-and-abstract database in the world, Scopus features broad coverage of scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences literature, as covered in about 14,000 peer-reviewed resources, as well as Web sites from the Scirus database. Scopus also functions as a citation-indexing tool.

Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Mary Abdoney
Logo - FacebookLogo - Google TalkLogo - LinkedInLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Telford Science Library
Washington and Lee University
Lexington, Virginia 24450
540.458.8647
Send Email
Office Location:
Telford Science Library Level 3, behind circulation desk
Resume:
PDF
 
Washington and Lee University Library | 204 West Washington Street | Lexington, Virginia 24450 | (540) 458-8643
Copyright © Washington and Lee University | Privacy Policy | Email Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip